Six Weeks To Go – Now Am I Ready?

I keep asking the same question, “Am I ready?”

Saturday morning I swam 2.4 Miles and I said, “yes, I’m ready”.

Then, I hopped on my bike and rode 45 miles. Between the wind and the heat, I couldn’t wait to stop. As I drove home, I thought, “If this were the real event, I would have another 9 hours to go.”

Sunday morning, I felt like a zombie with dead legs. Nevertheless, I ran 10 miles in the afternoon. That’s a lie. I ran 6.5 miles and walked 3.5 miles. I couldn’t finish the 10 mile run. As I walked I muttered, “how am I ever going to do a marathon?”

In my despair, I googled, “Have I done enough training for my Ironman?” I found a lot of training plans and advice on how to begin training, but nothing about the end. The best I found was from the http://www.220triathlon.com site. Here it is below.

So there’s my answer. The quick translation is, “Keep Calm and Keep Training.” Well, that’s easier said than done.

This week’s training log.

  • Monday (10/5): Rest.
  • Tuesday: Swim 1.1 Miles.
  • Wednesday: Bike 43 Miles.
  • Thursday: Run 5.6 Miles; Swim 1.1 Miles.
  • Friday: Bike 21 Miles.
  • Saturday: Swim 2.4 Miles; Bike 45 Miles. BRICK.
  • Sunday: Run 10 Miles.

Estimated Total Time: 14:00

This entry was posted in My Ironman Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment