T-16/T-15 Forced Double Rest

In my new schedule, I dedicate every fourth week as a recovery week. T-16 was the recovery week. Faithfully, I followed my schedule with normal weekday workouts and reduced mileage on the weekend. Everything was good until . . .

After my Sunday run, my lower back felt “tired”. Maybe strained? I don’t really know, but it was more tender than usual. I blamed the mild pain on work. Hunching over a computer screen, staring a small numbers that don’t make sense, and working without any stretching breaks tend to create all sorts of problems.

But, being a slave to the schedule, I ignored my back and began T-15 on my normal schedule. Only this time, my lower back began to revolt. After an easy Tuesday and Wednesday, I yielded to my body and took Thursday and Friday off. On Saturday and Sunday, I held back on the mileage monitoring my body for any twinge of pain. Fortunately, the weekend was pretty pain free.

Resting and Recovering

Needless to say, I’m back to normal and more dedicated to daily stretching and flexibility exercises. And, I’m very thankful for my forced double rest/recovery week(s).

Here are the training logs for the last two weeks.

T-16 Week (1/25 – 1/31) – About 9 hours of effort

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: Bike Trainer 1:00 (rainy day)
  • Wednesday: Easy Run 5.8 Miles
  • Thursday: Bike Hill Repeats 30 Miles
  • Friday: Run 3 Miles (Stairs repeats)
  • Saturday: Bike 45 Miles
  • Sunday: Run 7 Miles

T-15 Week (2/1 – 2/7) – About 8 hours of effort.

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: Bike Trainer 1:00 (another rainy day)
  • Wednesday: Easy Run 6 Miles
  • Thursday: Forced Rest
  • Friday: Forced Rest
  • Saturday: Bike 52 Miles
  • Sunday: Run 10.4 Miles
This entry was posted in My Ironman Journey, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment