T-11: Brick By Brick

Have you heard the story about the three pigs and the big bad wolf? In this story, each pig builds a house. One builds a house out of straw. One builds a house out of wood. And, one builds a house out of brick. The hungry wolf sees bacon (or better yet, pork belly) and blows down the straw and wood houses. With the house rubble, the wolf sets up and enjoys some nice spicy grilled pork belly. Then, the wolf goes after the pig with the bricks. But bricks are stronger, and the pig lives to see the end of the story.

Pigs 1 and 2 nicely grilled over their straw and wood house rubble.

The moral of the story is that BRICKS help you survive to the end.

With 11 weeks to go, I added bricks to my house of training. After my weekday bike sessions, I added a 1 mile run. Just 1 mile. Really, anyone can run 1 mile. With these first two BRICKS, I too am hoping to see the end — to hear my name called out as an Ironman (and maybe reward myself with some Korean BBQ).

This Week’s Training Log

  • Monday (3/1): Rest
  • Tuesday: Bike 30 Miles; Run 1 Mile (Brick)
  • Wednesday: Run 5.8 Miles
  • Thursday: Bike Trainer 2:00; Run 1 Mile (Brick)
  • Friday: Run 4 Miles – Tempo
  • Saturday: Bike 75 Miles
  • Sunday: Run 10 Miles
  • Total Time: 14 Hours
This entry was posted in My Ironman Journey, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment